Thank You!

I had a nice surprise the other day. You all know I keep sneaking in links to Amazon every now and again in my posts. This is because if you click on the link then buy something I get paid ~5% as an “affiliate”. Now, we don’t get enough hits to make our fortune so you can imagine my surprise when I received an email from Amazon saying they were paying up as I’d made just over £30 (~$60) over the Christmas period! 😯 😀

Thank you all who bought through the link, it didn’t cost you any more at Amazon to do so by the way. It was Amazon’s profits that paid me 😆 Anyway, I thought I’d let you know what I bought with the vouchers.

First of all I bought “How to Eat: Pleasures and Principles of Good Food” by Nigella Lawson.

Nigella Lawson How to Eat

I’ve been after this early Nigella book for a while. Nigel Slater called this his “book of the decade” so I can’t wait to try it out.

Next up I bought Cooking Outside the Box: The Abel and Cole Seasonal, Organic Cookbook.

Abel & Cole

Those of you who, like me, have an Organic Veg Box delivered will know sometimes you really struggle to think of another use of kale or swede or Jerusalem artichokes etc. Abel & Cole have been delivering organic veg boxes for years and although I get mine from River Nene I’m hoping this book will be invaluable.

Finally I decided to buy something to read. Over Christmas I bought Mrs ITs Food A Game of Thrones by George R R Martin. This is Book 1 in his A Song of Ice and Fire series. Well, I kidnapped the book and after struggling with the first third I was completely hooked by the end. So, the final thing I added to my shopping basket was book 2 of the series, A Clash of kings.

Clash of Kings

If you like your fantasy fiction then I heartily recommend this series. I wouldn’t let anyone younger than late-teen read it though as the characters can be fairly… forthright! Wonderful series.

Thanks again all of you who used our links, the Amazon vouchers were a wonderful surprise, a real bonus. We’ll continue to write our mix of food, tech and wine, those three joys of life and we hope you enjoy reading our blog.

With maybe the odd Amazon link in there every now and again! 😀

About itsfood

An IT Manager with an interest in tech (because he's a geek who enjoys his job too much) and food & wine (because he enjoys eating and drinking when not working).
This entry was posted in Books, Shopping, Xmas and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

