I feel his pain…!

From Herald Sun

Wine chief forced to smash ‘irreplaceable’ Grange Hermitage

A MELBOURNE brewery executive was on the verge of tears when he had to smash two bottles of Australia’s best-known wine at Melbourne Airport.

Neil Grant, southern region general manager with Foster’s Australia, ran foul of the tough air security rules as he was about to board an Emirates flight to Britain.

“I was going to conferences in Scotland and Ireland, and grabbed a 1980 and an ’82 Grange from my personal cellar,” Mr Grant said.

He estimated the two bottles were probably worth about $3000.

However Mr Grant had forgotten about the 100ml of liquids rule applying to carry-on luggage.

Although the precious Grange slipped through Customs, he came unstuck at the final security check.

“I had the lady from hell, who said, ‘No, sir, this is going to be bloody destroyed’, even though the Emirates people were happy to find my baggage and pack it for me,” Mr Grant said.

“I said, ‘This is like a work of art, it’s irreplaceable, do you know what you’re doing here?’

“She had them in her office and I said I wanted to put them in the wheelie bin myself.

“I was worried that they’d just go downstairs and someone would open the bin and there’s two bottles of Grange, so I smashed them.

“They were just totally inflexible.

“I offered to open it there and then and let everyone have some, but they said, ‘No, sir, you can’t do that here’.”

Just goes to show, don’t store wine, drink it!!

About itsfood

An IT Manager with an interest in tech (because he's a geek who enjoys his job too much) and food & wine (because he enjoys eating and drinking when not working).
This entry was posted in Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

