Great Summer of Rosé 2007: Mateus Rosé

Welcome to our final wine in the Great Summer of Rosé 2007. The sixth wine is… Mateus Rosé!

Mateus Rosé

Ah… Now those of you who have been following the Great Summer of Rosé 2007 will have been expecting the final wine to be Turning Leaf Shiraz Rosé 2005. I did have a bottle of this. I did actually drink the bottle. But… for some reason I took no photo’s or wrote any tasting notes. 😯

So, a last minute replacement is the “king of rosé”, Mateus. Like a lot of people in the UK when you think of rosé you think of Mateus. It was very popular in the 80’s and early 90’s before the New World wines invaded and educated us about decent, easy to understand wines. Now it seems it’s a bit of a joke, a bad retro wine joked about with other wines like Blue Nun and Black Tower. So is it that bad?

Mateus Rosé back label

I have to admit I had fairly fond memories about Mateus, a bit like Vino Verde. A wine you have a craving for every now and again but don’t drink on a regular basis.

Sogrape (who own Mateus) tell us in the tasting notes…

Mateus Rosé is a rosé with a very appealing and bright hue. On the whole, it is a fresh and seductive wine with
fine and intense bouquet and all the joviality of young wines. In the mouth, it is a well-balanced and tempting
wine, brilliantly complemented by a soft and slightly fizzy finish.

Well, first of all it was more expensive than I remember. I had £3.99 in mind but it cost almost £4.99 putting it in the same bracket as the rest of our contenders. The cork is very small and challenged my Screwpull Corkscrew. They warn you on the bottle not to use a gas or air pump as the wine is semi-sparkling.

What did my tasting notes say?

“Oh… Fizzier than I remember, also more dry, not as sweet, not much fruit, nasty aftertaste, I wonder if there’s any other wine in the house…”

Hmmm. Not good, this really was disappointing. I had kinda thought that I may prefer this to the others but I was VERY wrong! I did not enjoy this wine and seeing as it’s in the same price as the other rosé’s I’ve been tasting I can’t let my old “favourite” (!) win. Overpriced, overly fizzy and no fun.

Mateus Rosé

Grape: Baga, Rufete, Tinta Barroca and Touriga Franca and more!
Alcohol: 11%
Guide Price: <£4.99 (currently £4.13 online for a half case)
I bought this wine at: Tesco’s (instore)
ITs Food Rating: One Star

1 Star

About itsfood

An IT Manager with an interest in tech (because he's a geek who enjoys his job too much) and food & wine (because he enjoys eating and drinking when not working).
This entry was posted in 1 Star, Great Summer of Rosé, Rosé, Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Great Summer of Rosé 2007: Mateus Rosé

  1. Pingback: Great Summer of Rosé 2007 « IT’s Food

  2. Balakrishna says:

    Wine may be great , I am yet to taste it when occasion comes.

    I love it should have been bottled in a flint.

Leave a Reply

