Good Wine: McGuigan Gold Shiraz 2004

McGuigan Gold Shiraz 2004

Wow. That’s all I can think to say. Wow.

Okay, a little more then. This was an excellent wine both for flavour and price. It had the excellent pepperyness of a shiraz but on top of that it was full of lovely fruity (blackcurrant & plum?) undertones. I really enjoyed drinking this both with food and without. As usual a shiraz is great with food especially red meats, I reckon this would be a great barbecues. Now, regular readers may know I’ve had a bit of a bad time with McGuigan wines in the past but this has really put them back in my good books. Well done!

Not too much info on the making of the wine itself I’m afraid. This is one of those funny wines which are made by a major producer, McGuigan, but they don’t have much information on it. I’m assuming it’s an export special, just for major suppliers.

I loved this wine so much I’m seriously giving it 5 stars! I’m going to hold back for the moment and give it 4 stars, but I keep the right to change the rating after I have another bottle.

Great wine, great value, 4 stars.

McGuigan Gold Shiraz 2004

Grape: Shiraz
Alcohol: 13.5%
Guide Price: <£6 in-store (currently available <£5 at Majestic and <£6 Tesco online)
I bought this wine at: Tesco’s (instore)
ITs Food Rating: Four stars

4 Stars

About itsfood

An IT Manager with an interest in tech (because he's a geek who enjoys his job too much) and food & wine (because he enjoys eating and drinking when not working).
This entry was posted in 4 Stars, Good wine, Shiraz, Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good Wine: McGuigan Gold Shiraz 2004

  1. Pingback: Bad Wine: Adobe Merlot 2005 « IT’s Food

  2. Pingback: Bad Wine: Adobe Merlot 2005 « ITs Wine

  3. Pingback: 25% off Wine and Champagne at Tesco « ITs Food

  4. Pingback: Christmas Bargain: McGuigan Gold Shiraz 2006 - £3.99 « ITs Food

  5. Pingback: Good Wine: McGuigan Bin 578 Merlot « ITs Food

  6. Pingback: Good Wine: McGuigan Bin 578 Merlot « ITs Wine

Leave a Reply

