Bad Wine: Hardy’s Varietal Range Merlot 2005

Hardys Varietal Range Merlot 2005

(Sorry for the bad photo, my trusty Nokia N80 seems to have let me down on this occasion.)

Bad wine, don’t you just hate it? I’ve often said that you can’t buy a bad New World wine these days, especially an Australian Merlot. Seems like I was wrong.

Okay I know the bottle of Hardy’s Varietal Range Merlot 2005 I picked up isn’t “premium” but it should have been a decent glug. Should, it wasn’t. A harsh tasting excuse for a Merlot. Really, this wine isn’t worth wasting a full review on. It tasted bad with and without food and was completely disappointing.

I expect more from Hardy’s. One star.

Hardy’s Varietal Range Merlot 2005

Grape: Merlot
Alcohol: 13.5%
Guide Price: <£5
I bought this wine at: Sainsbury’s (instore)
ITs Food Rating: One star

4 Stars

About itsfood

An IT Manager with an interest in tech (because he's a geek who enjoys his job too much) and food & wine (because he enjoys eating and drinking when not working).
This entry was posted in 1 Star, Bad wine, Merlot, Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bad Wine: Hardy’s Varietal Range Merlot 2005

  1. paul collins says:

    sorry my friend had two bottles with my steak
    found it to be a very good glug…..would recomend it any body……

  2. itsfood says:

    Well after 2 bottles anyone would like a bottle… Each to their own.

  3. Inna says:

    I guess not much has changed in 4 years. I just tried 2009 Hardy’s merlot, and it was horrid. I’m usually pretty tolerant to cheap wine, but this was undrinkable. I had to pour it down the drain. Do not waste your money!

Leave a Reply

