Good Wine: Peter Lehman Barossa Clancy’s 2003 Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot

Sorry about the long gap between wine reviews, there’s a couple of reasons. First of all I’ve been learning how to Scuba dive with the Cambridge Dive Centre (CDC). Well now I’m PADI Open Water qualified. Second of all, sit down before you read this, I’m off the booze for a month! Crazy I know but I do this once a year just to prove I can. Anyway, back to an excellent wine…

I picked up Peter Lehman Barossa Clancy’s 2003 from Oddbins. It’s an interesting blend of Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot and you should be able to get it for ~£7.50/$15 a bottle. It’s a lovely mix, you have the fruity smoothness of the Merlot mixed with the robust tannins and sharpness of the Shiraz and Cabernet Sauvignon. As ever it’s best the day after you open it, served at room temperature. I’m 50/50 whether this can be enjoyed as much on it’s own rather than with food… I’d say “yes” for red wine fans but keep it with food if you’re serving it to “non-wine” people.

Peter Lehman Barossa Clancy's 2003 Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot

Okay, it looks a bit wet I know. It was stored in slightly too cold conditions and I brought it into a very steamy kitchen thus the condensation.

A good wine, I’m really wanting to give this three and a half stars but I’ll be cruel and give it three out of five.

3 Stars

What is the term for a wine fan? Winey? Wino? Grape-fiend? Let me know your suggestions.

About itsfood

An IT Manager with an interest in tech (because he's a geek who enjoys his job too much) and food & wine (because he enjoys eating and drinking when not working).
This entry was posted in 3 Stars, Cabernet Sauvignon, Good wine, Merlot, Shiraz, Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Good Wine: Peter Lehman Barossa Clancy’s 2003 Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot

  1. Pingback: Wine Ratings « IT’s Food

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Ways to Prevent or Cure a Hangover « IT’s Food

  3. Pingback: Average Wine: Peter Lehmann Barossa Cabernet Merlot « ITs Food

Leave a Reply

