Crispy or not?

On travelling to our new offices I can’t help but notice a snack van which offers all manner of tasty snacks. Unfortunately the special offer which ran through January (two filled rolls for £1) has ended and now it’s just the bog standard one roll for 50p. Maybe the special offer will return in the future, here’s hoping… Anyway, I haven’t yet succumbed but if I did there’d be just one thing I’d order. A bacon sarnie…

Hmmm… the good old bacon sarnie (that’s a bacon sandwich in case you’re not sure). It’s simplicity is one of the reasons that it’s got to be one of the greatest snacks ever. Just get…

Ah… The Bacon. Now this is where people differ. Obviously you need some good quality bacon and I get my “award winning” unsmoked back bacon from the excellent Country Farm Meats. Now, do you prefer back bacon or streaky? Back bacon is more meaty (and lean) whereas streaky is more fatty thus crisper. As I’ve mentioned I prefer back bacon to streaky most of the time but that’s not to say I don’t like my bacon sarnies crispy. The ideal sarnie (in my book) would have some unsmoked back bacon which has a decent rind on it. This cooks to a wonderful crispyness whilst the meat stays juicy and moist (as long as you cook it quickly under a hot grill). Yes, grill, don’t fry!

Maybe the humble bacon sarnie is not as simple as I first thought. Let’s not even get on to the subject of the perfect BLT!

Why don’t you post your comments about your perfect Bacon Sarnie?  It’d be interesting to hear what you think.

About itsfood

An IT Manager with an interest in tech (because he's a geek who enjoys his job too much) and food & wine (because he enjoys eating and drinking when not working).
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crispy or not?

  1. Pingback: A Formula For The Perfect Bacon Sandwich « IT’s Food

Leave a Reply

