Good Wine: Cloudy Bay Te Koko 2002

Okay, this one will tease you. It’s a Sauvignon Blanc but not as we know it Jim. This is an aged Sauvignon Blanc (2002) from the famous Cloudy Bay vineyard in New Zealand.

I first came across this when Sainsbury’s failed to deliver a half case of Cloudy Bay Sauvignon Blanc. I called them up and they were most apologetic and offered me a replacement at no cost. Well I was happy about that especially when they said it would be equivalent value (£18+ per bottle). The woman on the phone said “We have another Cloudy Bay here called Te Koko, do you want that?”. Well, I hadn’t heard of it before and I’m ashamed to admit I said “Well, I’m not sure, how much is it per bottle?”. I know, a bit sad… So, on hearing it was £25 per bottle I was happy to accept their kind offer. A few days later the wine appeared…

Straight away you can tell it’s different. I’ve heard some say it’s like an older un-oaked (or very mildly oaked) Chardonnay rather than a Sauvignon Blanc. Indeed there’s none of the usual Sauvignon Blanc citrusy fruityness, it’s all complex flavours. Now, you know my reviews don’t go into great detail about “butteryness” or “goosberry undertones” beacuse I haven’t a clue about such things, all you need to know is that this is a goody. If you like a “hearty” wine and/or want to impress some freinds (especially those who know about Cloudy Bay Sauvignon Blanc, but not this) then give this a go, you’ll like it. With food match it as a very flavoursome deep wine, not as if it was a standard light Sauvignon Blanc.

Now, this isn’t cheap. You’ll be looking well over £20 a bottle even on a case deal so see if your local wine merchant can get you a trial bottle first! Most of all, if you get some, enjoy it. Wine is fun, wine isn’t that serious really!

Cloudy Bay Te Koko 2002

I’m trying not to be swayed by my love of Cloudy Bay.  My heart tells me this is a four star wine, my head says be conservative and give it three.

3 Stars

About itsfood

An IT Manager with an interest in tech (because he's a geek who enjoys his job too much) and food & wine (because he enjoys eating and drinking when not working).
This entry was posted in 3 Stars, Cloudy Bay, Good wine, Sauvignon Blanc, Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good Wine: Cloudy Bay Te Koko 2002

  1. Pingback: Christmas Wines 2009 Part 2: The Whites, Fizz and Stickies « ITs Food

  2. Pingback: Christmas Wines 2009 Part 2: The Whites, Fizz and Stickies « ITs Wine

Leave a Reply

