Good Food Show 2006 & AWT

Well we went yesterday to the BBC Good Foof Show 2006 at the Birmingham NEC. We had a really good time although the drive back was horrible as it was dark, busy and very wet.

No realy foodie finds this year but we came back with a load of Brown Brothers wine including the lovely easy drinking Tarrango. May post more later as this post is going to be quite short but we also came back with some lovely cider, a couple of Stickies, wild boar sausages, Welsh cheese and much more.

As usual on all blogs the views expressed here are my personal ones and not my employers, the government’s, my chicken’s. etc..

<rant>In my opinion the food products associated with the “celebrity” chef Anthony Worrall Thompson are awful. Why do I think this? I bought some of his branded risotto (yum, risotto, one of my favourite dishes) to try and was VERY disappointed. Bland, tasteless gunk. Parmesan, Olive Oli, Salt, Pepper, etc, nothing could spruce up this tasteless junk. I’d foolishly bought three different “flavours”, all three were the same tasteless mess. An email to their CS only resulted in a very snotty email saying I’d made it wrong. Great. I know he puts his name to lots of products and not all necessarily are poor but I just get the feeling that he has little or no involvement in the development of the products and just licenses his name to make money. Rant over!</rant>

Ooh! My first blog rant!

About itsfood

An IT Manager with an interest in tech (because he's a geek who enjoys his job too much) and food & wine (because he enjoys eating and drinking when not working).
This entry was posted in Food Show, Rant, Shopping, Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

