Terrible Wine: Faustino I Gran Reserva Rioja 1996

When I think of Rioja, I always picture this bottle in my mind.

Faustino I Gran Reserva Rioja 1996

The classic wired body and clouded glass. I have fond memories of this wine, I seem to remember that the 1981 was excellent. So, did the memories flood back…?

The wine is made by Bodegas Faustino in Northern Spain. The vineyard has been arount since 1861 when Eleuterio Martinez Arzok moved to Oyon and bought a palace and vineyards from the Marques del Puerto. Faustino I was first launched on 1960 along with Faustino V, VII and Don Faustino.

Faustino I Gran Reserva Rioja 1996 Back Label

I remember rioja’s as being quite high in tannin’s rather than the “soft, silky, mellow” mentioned on the back. I drank it with a nice Ox Tail stew, good strong meaty flavour. My tasting notes said…

Urgh, bad bottle? No, but not great. Tannins, but also maybe sour? Not smooth at all.

I disliked it so much I drank very little. What did it taste like the next day?

Nope, just as bad

Oh dear, that was not good. The wine had no smoothness at all and had a distinctly sour aftertaste. I hosestly thought it could have been a bad bottle but it wasn’t quite bad enough. I’ve given bad wine a second chance before but at over £10 a bottle someone would have to send me a bottle for free!! With decent reds from the New World available at <£10 it’s only a matter of time before disappointing Old World reds like this one die out. One Star.

Faustino I Gran Reserva Rioja 1996

Grape: Tempranillo 85%, Graciano 10%, Mazuelo 5%
Alcohol: 13%
Guide Price: ~£14 (Sainsburys)
I bought this wine at: Sainsbury’s (instore)
ITs Food Rating: One star

1 Stars

About itsfood

An IT Manager with an interest in tech (because he's a geek who enjoys his job too much) and food & wine (because he enjoys eating and drinking when not working).
This entry was posted in 1 Star, Bad wine, Rioja, Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Terrible Wine: Faustino I Gran Reserva Rioja 1996

  1. brian lloyd says:

    It must have been a bad batch. I have personally drank many bottles of this particular vintage, as I have many other of their vintages without any problems, infact I recently drank a bottle of 1964 vintage. I had suspected that this may be past its best, but in actual fact, it drank superbly

  2. itsfood says:

    Yes, but isn’t it a shame when you get a bad wine?

  3. Alberto Gallardo says:

    Love this wine, you must have given a bad bottle, not true at all on your review of this superb wine, smooth red to go with hearty meats.

Leave a Reply

